Friday, January 9, 2009

New Contemporaries

The deadline for newcontemporaries 2009 is MONDAY 2 FEBRUARY 2009.

newcontemporaries 2008
: 57 artists were selected from UK Art schools by Richard Billingham, Ceal Floyer and Ken Lum.

Pio Abad | Adam Ajina Allsopp & Weir | Güler Ates Steve Bishop | Paul Bratt Stewart Cliff | Beth Collar Alexia de Ville de Goyet | Joe Doldon Jeremy Evans | Anwen Handmer Chris Hanlon | Gabriel Hartley Gerd Hasler | Neil Hedger Tyle r Bright Hilton | Sam Holden Alex Hudson | Peter Joslyn Emmanuel Kazi Kakai | Eva Kalpadaki Katharina Kiebacher | Rinat Kotler Raakhee Lakhtaria | Andrew Larkin Ian Law | littlewhitehead Joseph Long | Jo Longhurst Ellen Macdonald | Allison Maletz Jane Maughan | Sarah Michael Haroon Mirza | Yoca Muta Gemma Nelson | Sachiyo Nishimura Yo Okada | Joep Overtoom Heather Phillipson | Patricia Pinsker Giles Ripley | Constance Slaughter Rita Soromenho | Naomi St Clair-Clarke David Stearn | Nicholas Tayler Esther Teichmann | David Theobald Jason Underhill | Manuel Vazquez Lara Viana | Jane Ward Anita Wernström | Paul Westcombe Jeanine Woollard

New Contemporaries gives people still at, or just after, art school the opportunity to show their work in the context of a professional art gallery. It is important in that it takes the work out of the educational context and into the real.

The relationship between education and art is known, respected, but strangely not recognised enough.

As an organisation New Contemporaries is, however, totally independent of the art school as it allows applicants a democratic chance for the work itself to shine through.

Reputations that might otherwise become set within the art school system are able to break out.

No comments: